1st Plan! The Week of August 28

My first day of school (with students) is Monday.  That means this week brings a special kind of exhaustion that involves nodding off at 8:30.  So the dinner plan has to be easy, but it has to be extra yummy and healthy too, because when I’m tired and short on time, I’m SO happy to dump any thought of vegetables and just order a pizza instead.  It’s a slippery slope, so I’m trying to set us up to have lots of no-brainer yummy/healthy stuff.

Also trying to plan for leftover-friendly foods so I can have something to take for lunch.

Here’s what I came up with:

Sunday:  Hawaiian chicken kebabs:  This recipe was my inspiration.  I’ll definitely have chunks of chicken breast, red onion, bell peppers, pineapple…  and the marinade will be a little sketchier — I might follow the recipe or not, depending on what I can find in the pantry.  Planning to make lots so we can have leftovers.

I’m feeling all kinds of avocado love lately, and so I’ll probably grill an avocado to have on the side.  Just cut it in half, leave the skin on, and put it cut-side down on the grill.  Sometimes I brush a bit of olive oil on it first, but sometimes no.  After it’s done (heated through, with a bit of a skin forming on the cut side) I sprinkle lime juice and salt on it.  We sometimes eat it right out of the skin, and other times we scoop it out into a bowl and mash it guacamole-style.

Monday:  It’s tradition.  There will be no cooking today.  Depending on the tiredness level, dinner at a restaurant or eating sushi in my pjs on the couch.

Tuesday:  I’m a big fan of grilled mahi mahi, and usually we keep it pretty simple.  But I found this recipe for Mahi Mahi with Chili Lime Butter, and chili, lime, and butter are three of my favorite flavors, so we’ll give this a try.  I’m guessing there will be salad alongside, and maybe some grilled green beans.

A word on grilled green beans:  So good.  Use the skinny small ones — no twelve-inch monsters that have been hiding out in the garden.  Put them on a little tray made of aluminum foil, add some olive oil, and put them on the grill until they start to get a few brown spots or char marks.  Salt and pepper them, and you’re done.  They’re like french fries that are green and good for you.  I am in love with them.

Wednesday:  Cilantro Lime Chicken Salad with Mango Avocado Salsa…  I don’t repeat actual recipes very often (because I have a hard time remembering where I found that yummy thing we made a month ago) but I’ve made this several times this summer.  It’s just so good.  I just have to remember to get the chicken marinating in the lime juice mixture before I leave for work.

Thursday:  Quesadillas with goat cheese and veggies.  It’s the end of a long week (hello, holiday weekend tomorrow!) so I’ll use whatever veggies are still hanging around in the fridge.  Saute or grill them up, depending on if it’s raining, and then put them in the quesadillas.

Leave a Reply

