February 12 and so on…

It’s that weird mid-winter time (the lack of snow doesn’t help) where I’m done with winter, and the sun is starting to come up on my drive to work, and I’m craving veggies madly and I start to imagine that it secretly might be spring. And so my original plan was to just have a grilling fest this week, but when I sat down to make a plan it didn’t quite happen.  Which is fine, because every year when I imagine that it secretly might be spring, terrible winter weather comes back to remind me not to get too excited. So we’ll do occasional weekend grilling, but hold off on going full-grill for a few more weeks.  Here’s the plan:

Sunday:  Pork chops (season with salt & pepper, sear in a pan and then pop the pan in the oven to finish cooking) with a sauce made of maybe maple syrup and dijon mustard (I’m just making that up as I’m typing and realizing that some kind of sauce would be lovely, so I’ll pull the chops from the pan, add a bit of white wine to deglaze the pan, and then some mustard and maple and let it cook for a few minutes).  We’ll have roasted cauliflower (see last Sunday’s menu — we’ll cook it the same way we did that) and Roasted Butternut Squash salad from the Pioneer Woman Cooks book (my continuing effort to try all the recipes in one book has stalled in the last few weeks, but I’m trying!).

Monday:   Zucchini involtini.  I’ve been wanting to make this for weeks, and it’s finally time!  We’ll make salad with balsamic vinegar and shredded parmesan to have alongside.

Tuesday:  We’ll avoid a restaurant tonight, but still have yummy food.  I’m going to try to make a Roasted Carrot Soup (from my new favorite food website, Food52) and then we’ll pan-sear some scallops and some little crab cakes (no recipe for the cakes — I just mix crab with stuff that will be delicious and make it all stick together, like egg, or mustard, and add some herbs and chopped veggies like onion or jalapeno, and dip it in some crushed tortilla chips before putting it in the fridge a bit to rest).  We’ll have roasted asparagus with it all. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Wednesday: Portobello mushroom pizzas — like making English muffin pizzas, but on portobello mushrooms instead.  Scrape the gills out with a spoon, then put some pizza sauce, toppings, and cheese on.  Put them on a foil-covered baking sheet (they will give off a lot of liquid!) and bake at about 425 for 10 or 15 minutes.

Thursday: Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore (except instead of adding noodles, we’ll put it on zucchini noodles instead).

Friday: Time to grill.  Burgers, oven fries, roasted broccoli.  Yum.

Leave a Reply

